Christmas Tablescape

Christmas is such a fun time for decorating, and doing special tablescapes for friends is at the top of the list.  I’ve been having sewing days to get a big quilt top done for Quilts of Valor, and we’ve been doing pot luck lunches.  I am blessed with a lot of friends, too many to have all at once, so I get to have more fun with more sew days.  Certainly we need a pretty table to enjoy our lunch, and I could take care of two goals at once, as I needed a new tablescape for today’s post, my day on a fun blog hop.  Last year, my focus was rustic green with gold, and the year before was red with gold.  Since I like to change things up from year to year, this year the color scheme will be more red.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Starting out, I put a holly berry tablecloth on the dining table, and set a stack of dishes down so I could gather more things for the centerpiece. The print was not enough red for what I had in mind, so I decided to add a solid red topper.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Red chargers provide the base, and I added Lenox Holiday Tartan china dinner plates and the large soup bowls.  We were going to have soup with lunch.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

But, knowing that everyone would be bringing a dish, and there is always too much food, I changed the bowls over to a smaller fruit bowl for smaller portions of soup.  I love this china, inherited from my mother.  She had exquisite taste.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

For the centerpiece, I placed a large sleigh in some greenery garlands and added poinsettia flowers on each end.  In the sleigh, I placed red ornament balls.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

A couple of pretty ornament balls are on each end adding a bit of shine.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Red apple ornaments flank whimsical reindeer taking a break.  I have two of these cute little guys, so there is one on each side of the sleigh.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

The centerpiece is low and full, so we can see each other and have conversation over it.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

I found some tiny tartan wrapped packages, and added those to the sleigh to echo the tartan pattern on the dishes.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Crystal glasses for water, coffee mugs, flatware and napkins held with red napkin rings finished off the settings.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Later I added place cards so all the participants had a special place.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

One more overall view.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

DH will be happy to know that not one new thing was purchased for this table, it is all done with new ways of using items I already had.

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

And now, for more tablescape ideas, here is the link list for the blog hop.  Monday through today are direct links active now.  Thursday and Friday link to the blog’s main page, and will be updated to the individual pages each day so you can come back and see more through Friday.

Do you like to set a pretty table for the holidays?  Do you have special things or holiday china to use year after year?

Christmas 2017 Tablescape Blog Hop

Christmas Luncheon Tablescape ~ From My Carolina Home

Also sharing at…

Vintage Charm

49 thoughts on “Christmas Tablescape

  1. Rita C.

    Carole, you are right – your mother’s taste was exquisite! I so love your china too. Those tiny packages and tartan ornaments in the sled have me swooning as well. Very pretty. Layering the tablecloths adds depth to the entire tablescape – very nice. Your sewing circle should feel quite pampered in this setting. Enjoy!

  2. Love, love, love that china pattern! I have never seen it before, and it is gorgeous. The sleigh with the little tartan wrapped gifts make the perfect centrepiece. Your attention to detail with the little individual salt and pepper shakers is wonderful. What a lucky group your sewing circle is to come enjoy a meal with you at your pretty Christmas table!

  3. How blessed your friends are to enjoy this gorgeous tablescape. The china is especially beautiful….the whole look is very inviting. Carole, you have a gift for this….thank you for sharing. I’ve gotten so many wonderful ideas from you over the past few years. I appreciate you very much.

  4. Showcasing your Mother’s china for this holiday table is so special Carole, holidays are packed with memories and it means so much to enjoy family traditions and things that have been shared and passed along. I know your family and friends will feel loved and welcome when they join you at this beautiful table decked out in red! Love your sleigh full of gifts too! So clever to match the plaid in the china to the ornaments!
    Jenna

  5. What a lovely setting! I “acquired” from my friend’s craft room a little wicker sleigh…and now I have an idea of how to use it! I have my Queen Bee friends for a holiday pot luck next week and need to “get busy” decorating.

  6. Pingback: Christmas Tablescape Blog Hop: The First Noel

  7. Carole, your Lenox China is one of my all-time favorite Christmas patterns, and your mother had exquisite taste. The sleigh packed with gifts is the perfect centerpiece! I know your friends loved this table and certainly felt special!

  8. sharon schipper

    Also my favorite Christmas pattern! I have some simple china with poinsettias on it for our Christmas, and some lovely glasses with gold trim. We never seem to be able to get all the decor out and used, so as we opened boxes on Sunday I gave some to my DIL that she wanted, a whole bunch of bear ornaments to her mother, and am determined that only truly sentimental special ones stay… Last year I took my Mom’s glass ornaments, the inexpensive one’s from the 50’s, and made a wall hanging on a large quilting hoop to hang on the wall, and that’s my tree downstairs this year. We took the ornaments I made of cookie cutters and my gingerbread people ornaments and made a swag for the kitchen window that turned out cute. Our kitchen and dining room run into each other, and DIL is using blue and silver, so some of my burgundy and gold may go… but at least for now, not the china! At least now I know what direction to go in for future Christmas presents… I need to go shopping at Michaels for a blue snowflake inspired centerpiece I think! sadly in all the recent moves, my sleigh and trees that looked like crystal from House of Lloyd have disappeared and I’m very sad. I am suspicious my son randomly took some boxes to the thrift shop on the last move and that would include a box of Christmas and a box of books that are now out of print, sigh. I hate moving! hazards of military life for so long. Okay, today online Michael’s coupon for 25% off sale!

  9. Carole, I can just hear all of the conversations from your sewing group and smile at the memories you will be making! So fun! Your china is beautiful and I love the history behind it. I love the tartan packages you were able to find – simply adorable – and the sleigh that holds them is equally so! Merry Christmas!

  10. Pingback: christmas tablescapes that dazzle - My French Twist

  11. Oh, I’ve always admired Lenox Holiday Tartan, what a beautiful pattern to have passed down from your mother. The little tartan packages are perfect in the sleigh with the red ornaments. I’m sure your sewing group will be thrilled to have a seat at your beautiful table!

  12. Your china is so very lovely and makes for a beautiful traditional Christmas tablescape. The use of poinsettias is always a favorite. And the accents of the sleigh and presents fits perfectly with the classic china. Merry Christmas.

  13. What a beautiful table for all your friends to enjoy. How appropriate that the Holiday Tartan pattern has the ribbon intertwining with the fruit – just as your friends intertwine their talents to produce something wonderful. Merry Christmas!

  14. Monica Kostak

    What a nice table display…as i’m reading and finishing up my lunch on a paper plate in my cubicle 🙂 It’s so nice to be able to enjoy the holidays with friends (sewing) and food. Puts everyone in the holiday spirit and helps to encourage others to finish projects too.!

  15. The china is wonderful. You always set a perfect table, The centerpiece is also pretty. I love sleighs. Everyone will be festive and happy at your beautiful table.

  16. sherrygcole

    Your table is gorgeous! The dishes are so unique and beautiful. I have never seen this pattern and I love it! You have done a beautiful job!

  17. kathyinozarks

    Your tablescapes are always so gorgeous! Love this one as well-you should get hired by a magazine-hugs

  18. Everything looks lovely on your table. I do LOVE your china! If I had any more room to store dishes, I would get lots more designs of them. And how fun that you get to share this with friends!

  19. Rattlebridge Farm

    The Lenox Tartan pattern is classically beautiful, and it is part of your history. Love the tartan ornaments. Your friends are in for a treat!

  20. What a lovely, festive table! My sister and I share a home. We pampered ourselves with Christmas china two years ago. At our ages we thought, “Why not?” We enjoy our special china throughout the month of December. It dresses up even a meal of sandwiches and chips.

  21. Pingback: Here We Come A-Caroling & Giveaway

  22. How special to inherit such an exquisite china pattern from your mother. She did have great taste. The sleigh full of tartan packages compliments the china beautifully.

  23. Belle Bleu Interiors

    What a gorgeous Christmas table! Your china is just beautiful! I hope that you have a Merry Christmas!!!

  24. Another gorgeous tablescape!! I have always wanted a nice set of holiday dishes….but where would I store them, I tell myself each year! 🙂 Maybe some day if I find some at an estate sale….a girl can dream!

  25. Such a beautiful Christmas tablescape! Holly berry tablecloth is gorgeous and your china festive and elegant. I desperately seeked Lenox here in Italy but it seems that no one sells them 😕

  26. Carole, your tablescape is beautiful. Your mother had exquisite taste. That pattern is so lovely. The sleigh is adorable with the tartan packages. By all means, use your china. Life is too short to put it all away. Thank you for sharing such a pretty table.

  27. I want to be part of your sewing group (will you take non-sewers?) who get to sit at this lovely table! So lovely in its traditional Christmas red sporting beautiful china and a pretty centerpiece. I’m a big fan of low centerpieces too so that sight lines and conversations are not hindered across the table and I think you’v designed a terrific one with the sleigh full of presents and the greenery around it. I enjoyed reading your post and how your thought process worked in deciding what to put on the table and what dishes to use. Really enjoyed my stop here on the Blog Hop!

  28. Pingback: Red Christmas Truck Tablescape - Celebrate & Decorate

  29. Pingback: scandi christmas tablescape with ikea to the rescue - My French Twist

  30. Pingback: Christmas on Wheels and Tartan Tree Napkin Fold – Home is Where the Boat Is

  31. Pingback: Christmas Tablescape Ideas Blog Hop - Inspiration for your holiday table

  32. Pingback: Styling an Elegant Christmas Tablescape

  33. Carole, you are so right, your mom did have exquisite taste and how lucky are you to have those lovely plates on your dining table. What a special memory. And you are so smart for creating a low centerpiece. I will surely have to take my centerpiece down before we all sit down for our meal.

    Merry Christmas!

  34. dezertsuz

    Your mother DID have great taste – that is beautiful china! I see where you get your flair for decorating. =) That is, as always, a very appealing tablescape. How can one not sit down and enjoy a meal served at that table?

  35. Your mother’s china is really beautiful! I don’t think I remember this particular Lenox pattern, but I love it. It’s great when we’re able to create something new from all our old collections at home. We’re retired and living on a fixed income makes it all that more important to be creative as possible. It’s been great meeting you through this blog hop!

  36. Pingback: Rustic Winter Christmas Tablescape - B. Lovely Events

  37. Thank you very much for taking part in the Christmas tablescape blog hop! I love seeing all the different ideas everyone has come up with this season. The china is so beautiful, and I always like when Christmas decor from china to ornaments comes with memories and connections to our families.

Comments are closed.