Summer Evening Music, car show, and a fun video

Summer heat is beginning to abate, with some early mornings this week in the high 50s, just like autumn!  It is a great time to get downtown and enjoy another evening of Music on Main with the car club.  This time we took a picnic.  I would have loved to use my Farmer’s Market Picnic quilt, but I have agreed to have it hang in the Apple Festival Quilt Show.  I didn’t want to take a chance of it getting filthy before the show, so left it at home.

PicnicQuiltwithBasket

I wanted to make a special picnic, so I found these crusty rolls at the deli. I added little spinach salads with my Cranberry Vinaigrette, raw carrots, grapes and cheese, and summer sausage.

Summer Evening Music

The sandwiches were peppercorn turkey with horseradish aoli, and fresh lettuce on those crusty rolls. I like to wrap in wax paper to keep the rolls crispy. I put a little sprig of lettuce on the top of mine so I can easily see which one is the larger for DH.

Summer Evening Music

I cheated with the cookies, as I didn’t have time to bake from scratch. I used the break apart and bake chocolate chip cookie dough from the store. One of these days I’ll remember to roll them into dough balls so the square shape of the dough isn’t so obvious, LOL!! Yet, not one person complained, they just grabbed them up and scarfed them down.

Summer Evening Music

Once again, British cars are parked together, so our friends can picnic with us.  We arrived at Music on Main’s car show early enough to have our picnic and see all the cars before the concert started.

Summer Evening Music

All along Main Street in Hendersonville, antique and vintage cars line both sides of the street and down the middle of the road.

Summer Evening Music

Did you want a Mustang when you were younger?

Summer Evening Music

I have a soft spot for these two-tone Bel Air cars. We had a turquoise and cream one when I was a kid.

Summer Evening Music

Summer Evening Music

Summer Evening Music

Lots of people strolling around in the wonderful cool evening, getting ready to enjoy two hours of live music at the Visitor’s Center Bandshell.  Lots of cars from the 1940s came too.  All total there were about 175 cars to see.  If your DH is looking over your shoulder at the cars, there are more pictures on our car club event gallery at HERE.

Summer Evening Music

This is the last Music on Main for the year, and it was a gorgeous evening to be outside. No rain this time!  Tuxedo Junction plays oldies from mostly the 60s and 70s, with a bit of 50s thrown in here and there.

Summer Evening Music

They played until well after dark, and we had a great time.

Summer Evening Music

One more note (pardon the pun) about music.  I recently found the neatest music video.  Have you heard the song Sugar by Maroon 5?  It is one of those fun songs that will stay with you for a bit.  This video is so much fun, I must have watched it a dozen times now.  The members of the group surprised seven brides at their wedding receptions all in the same day, according to the video.  Take a look, and watch the faces of the brides and the audiences.  They were all blown away, and you will be too. Sugar! Yes, Please!

9 thoughts on “Summer Evening Music, car show, and a fun video

  1. Tammy Hutchinson

    Loved the music video -Thanks-I’m sure I wouldn’t have seen it but for you! Happy picnic quilt also.:)

  2. catsandroses

    LOVE the quilt, the cars and the video! (Have loved that Maroon 5 song since it first came out, but hadn’t seen that video before). That quilt is just scrumptious and gorgeous! And I always enjoy your vintage car photos. Have many fond memories of vintage car picnics from my youth, as my Dad was very (still is) involved in our local Antique Car Club (he still has a ’64 Corvette convertible, two Chevelles from the 60’s and a Pontiac from the 1930’s — used to have a two toned ’57 Chevy as well!)

  3. Mary Jo

    Love your picnic quilt! And I love the cars. My husband restores old cars, has about a dozen, including a 58 Chevy BelAir that I gave hime for Christmas last year, A ’58 BelAir was his first car and he has been looking for one for a long time. The one we found is all original and it great shape, so he didn’t even have to do anything to it…but of course he had to “play” a little and tinker with it some! We are not very far from Hendersonville, so we might have to check out Music on Main!

  4. We have several car clubs in this area, so a couple times a year they put together special events. One of the events is Back to the 50’s and this year we had to have had at least 1000 cars driving around and parked for everyone to see. They also usually have a live band and dance. My father was a mechanic most of his life, he also built a drag car and did a lot of racing until after his triple bi pass. I would have loved to have had a Mustang, but dad insisted that my first car be a big sturdy old classic (for the life of me the brand of car will not come to me).

    Sorry, I have not been on much, we have had company from Wyoming and Colorado visiting. We went over to the Oregon Coast yesterday and spent the entire day. My normal schedule has been tossed aside and been turned upside down. But we are having lots of laughs, good food and great stories. With the company, I have not had a chance to sew at all. LOL. So I have a ton of things to catch up on this month. Thanks for sharing your post and photos have a wonderful creative day!

  5. Heather

    Love your blog, as well, love the quilt. Thanks for sharing your evening with all of us and the video with Maroon 5. I almost cried at the expressions on the bride and groom’s faces when the drapes dropped and they realized who it was.

  6. Thanks for sharing your fun event !!! Love that quilt and the food look yummy! I love going to a good car show and throw in a good band and I”m in heaven 🙂 I’ve seen that video several times and enjoy it every time 🙂

  7. Oh how very much I love your picnic quilt!! It’s so playful and fun for a picnic! And don’t post cookies that look THAT good…makes me want to pour a tall glass of mild and eat a plateful myself!

Comments are closed.