Springtime Tablescape

Spring is right around the corner and everything is in the process of turning green.  Little shoots of new bulbs are peeking out of the ground with the anticipation of flowers to come.  Thinking green in March seems traditional, not only for St. Patrick’s Day, but just because it is spring.  It seemed a green and white tablescape was in order.

Spring Tablescape - 7

One thing my mother used to do was collect all her mismatched glass candlesticks and put them all together as a centerpiece.  I took that a step further, and added greenery and some white silk tulips with the green candles.  All those different heights create interest, yet you can still see around them to talk across the table.

Spring Tablescape - 12

I set out the good, white china plates on white basketweave placemats with these rare, depression glass salad plates.

Spring Tablescape - 8

The pattern is called Bowknot, and only a few pieces have been found.  There are salad plates, and some fruit cups known, and a few other pieces.  No one knows where or how they were distributed, or why there were no larger plates or other pieces.  The pattern is delicate.

Spring Tablescape - 3

I folded the napkins with a little turned-down corner like a flower petal, and added small sprigs of silk daisies.

Spring Tablescape - 5

Aren’t these lettuce leaf bowls wonderful? The perfect serving dish for a spring table.

Spring Tablescape - 11

There are two, and they have little lettuce leaf plates to go underneath.

Spring Tablescape - 13

This is a great time to serve some Irish Coffee in my special cups.

Spring Tablescape - 14

Recognize the quilted table runner from last spring’s Thread Color Experiment?  The green and white toile, along with the white and tan go well for spring.

Spring Tablescape - 16

I love this serving dish with its rabbits and fresh vegetables.  The green and white motifs seem to pick up the toile in the table runner too.

Spring Tablescape - 1

All those different greens work together nicely, holding the promise of a season of renewal.

Spring Tablescape - 15

Are you ready for Spring?

 

Sharing

Brag About It!

Celebrate and Decorate

 

 

14 thoughts on “Springtime Tablescape

  1. My mother creates tablescapes also and I aways enjoy them. Love all the greens and added touches. I visit my elderly parents next week and she’s splitting up her depression glass set. Sad.

  2. Mary Jo

    I love your green depression glass. I have some green, some yellow and some pink that belonged to my grandmother but I don’t know the name of any of them. Guess I need to do a little research

  3. Rosemarazzle

    Rosemary B here:
    Happy St Paddys Day!
    I love your table settings, all of the special dishes. I love the green glass plates and that bunny serving dish.
    So cute
    Did you remember to wear green? I forgot but no one said anything to me when I was out in public with my non green wearing daddy, and my green striped mom.

  4. Stephanie

    The miniature flowers tucked into the napkins looks simply lovely and the green tones are beautiful for Spring. You have created a wonderful Spring tablescape.

    Thank you for sharing with Roses of Inspiration – I greatly appreciate you linking up. Hugs!

  5. Love your tablescape. i also enjoyed learning about your blog. I, too live in the North Carolina mountains, about an hour from you in a small town northeast of Asheville. We Carolina mountain girls need to stick together and support each other. I would be honored if you’d check out my blog, Our MT Nest at http://ourmtnest.com

  6. The little added touch like the napkin fold is what makes your tablescapes so unique and I love, love the candles at varying heights. I have a pink cake plate that belonged to my mother and I think it’s depression glass. One day I will use it. Thank you for sharing with us this week at Celebrate Your Story, and I hope you’re having a great weekend.

Comments are closed.