Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper

This is a really fast and very easy table topper to whip up for tomorrow’s open house or that last minute gift. All you need are 5 coordinating fabrics, just a few strips of each one. I have seen this done with all the same size strips, but I think it has a little more interest if there are more than one width used in the project, so here’s what you need to make this one. You’ll use small strips just the length you need. I have given you the total length you’ll need, but these strips do not need to be sewn together. Usually one or two WOF strips will do the job. You may have to piece a strip to have enough total length if you are using fat quarters.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 15

These measurements will make a 21-inch table topper, measured from point to point.

Main Focus fabric red rose print for center and binding – One 6-1/2” x 7-1/2” rectangle, and strips for binding 2-1/2” wide by about 75 inches long.
First ring – red on cream print – 2” wide strip x about 42” total length
Second ring – green print – 2 “ wide strips x about 55” total length
Third ring – red print – 1-1/2” wide strips x about 60” total length
Fourth ring – holly print – 3” wide x about 84” total length

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 1

Start by cutting a hexagon measuring 6-1/2 inches from flat side to the opposite flat side. You can use a hexagon shaped cutting ruler, like I have, or make a paper template with a 60-degree ruler.  Fussy cut a nice center patch.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 2

Take your first strip, put it right sides together with one edge of the hexagon allowing a bit of the strip to go past the edge of the hexagon. Sew.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 3

Press to the center.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 4

Now, using the edges of the hexagon as a guide, trim the first piece.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 5

Trim both sides.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 6

Add your next strip the same way.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 7

Continue adding strips (log cabin style), pressing to the center, and trimming the angles until the first ring is done.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 9

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 10

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 11

Continue with the next four rings in the same manner. Quilt as you like. This small topper is easy to quilt with a domestic machine by just doing stitch in the ditch. If you like, you can do an all over meander, or use a pantograph on a longarm. Bind in the usual way.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 13

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 14

So cute on a side table with some Christmas decorations.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 15

It is just the right size for a kitchen counter and a small table top tree. If you’d like your project larger than 21-inches point to point, simply add more rings in various widths. You’ll need three to four WOF strips per ring outside the dimensions given.

Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper 17

A fast start to your holiday projects, and it could easily translate to other color schemes too, blue and silver, green and gold, or whatever you like! Happy Holiday Sewing!

You can download a pdf version – Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper.  In response to a request in the comments, if you need a template for the hexagon shape, click on HexagonTemplate.

My blog is a variety of subjects, a lot of quilting and sewing, but also tablescapes, recipes, book reviews, hand stitching, stamping cards, crafting, gardening, travel and mountain living. I love to have new followers, too! If you are visiting from Fave Quilts, All Free Sewing, Pinterest, a link up site, or just found me, please stay a bit and have a look around, some of my tutorials are gathered at the top in pages to make them easy to find. You can also use the category list on the sidebar to see everything in a given category. For more sewing posts, click on the Sewing category. Lots of fun is had here, and I invite you to follow with any of your favorite methods. To follow by email or blog reader, use the link buttons on the sidebar. If you are viewing my blog on a smartphone, scroll down past the comments to see the options. If you are on a computer, the options are on the sidebar on the right. Click on the Home page to see the latest posts and projects on the blog. The Teacups Quilt Along BOM just started in August 2018, so you have time to catch up. My next mystery quilt along begins in January. Click on the Home page to see the latest posts on the blog. Thanks for visiting, and I hope you enjoy all the tutorials and fun things here!

See what’s new on sale today with the Fat Quarter Shop’s Flash Sale. Find more great Serger Books on Amazon, and great deals on Serger Threads too. I am delighted to be featured during National Sewing Month at All Free Sewing!!

If you want to get some of gorgeous fabrics for your holiday sewing, check out the Fat Quarter Shop’s Moda Line. Get spools and cones of the fantastic Aurifil Threads at Fat Quarter Shop Aurifil Threads. You’ll love the extra light with the Sewing Machine LED Lighting Kit. If you would like to have a pair of wonderful serrated edge scissors, click on Karen Kay Buckley’s Perfect Scissors to get your pair from Fat Quarter Shop. Get your Olfa Splash Cutter at FQS too – Olfa Splash.

28 thoughts on “Christmas Hexagonal Table Topper

  1. thanks so much for the tutorial. This is something I’d like to try. Everything looks within my skills except the binding… those less than 90* angles have me shakin in my boots ! Did you use bias binding ?

      1. Dorothy Law

        Wonderful thank you, I am new to Quilting and mistakingly cut a hexagon from the wrong fabric. I saw this and loved it. So here I go……. I’ll be back. Dorothy

  2. Jeannie

    I made the hexagon table topper over the week-end. It was easy and so much fun. Thanks for the pattern. Have additional pieces cut out for another one.

  3. CraftHer

    Just found and made this topper. I made it with Christmas fabric and also with Batiks. Turned out gorgeous! Thanks for the tutorial on bindings, too.

    1. I have been wanting to make a topper like this and am so happy to have found your site. It really came out nicely fir my first attempt and the instructions were great!

  4. I love the pattern but, can not down load the project to my tablet. Was wondering if I can get the pattern either thru email or the mail. Please let me kmow.

  5. Daleen Dotson

    I’ve made two of these hexagon mats. One is for Thanksgiving and the other is for Christmas. Do you cut the binding on the bias or on the straight grain of the fabric? What is the width of the binding you used? Thanks.

    1. I am so happy to hear that! I use binding cut 2-1/2 inches wide, see my binding tutorial at https://frommycarolinahome.wordpress.com/2014/04/19/quilt-binding-tutorial-part-1-making-bias-binding/ – links to the next steps at the bottom. I also go through binding other than 90-degree corners. Typically I use bias, but occasionally straight of grain if I am running out of what I want to use or it is a small project.
      Thanks for commenting!

  6. Just want to tell you that my friend and I have so enjoyed making up this table topper for nearly every holiday for our families and friends. They are so impressed. Thank you, Thank you.

  7. Mari Keenen

    Good Morning . . I just found you through Favequilts.com. I have enjoyed looking through your site – great work. Do you have a link for emails to follow you? Thanks

  8. Debbie Clark

    Love, love, love this pattern! I have made 2 of them in the past 2 days, and will probably make more. Thank you so much!

  9. Barb Brindley

    Loved this pattern and tutorial. It is the first tie I have used my rotary cutter and it was so easy! Also the first time I have done my own binding, which worked out ok also. I used a winceyette/brushed cotton/flannel fabric to fill so it lies very flat. Would like to send a photo but don’t know how to do it from this blog.

  10. Hi Carole; Just eating lunch and browsing older posts on your blog. What a wealth of fun things to make here!! I am going to print the pdf for this one because it will be a sweet gift to make for the holidays – thanks so much for all that you do!

  11. Phyllis Gudgalis

    I am not a quilted, but I want to make one. You do not mention anything about batting. How do I cut it.

  12. Pingback: Quick and Easy Table Toppers to Sew for Christmas - Days Filled With Joy

Comments are closed.