From My Carolina Home

Quilting, cooking, reading books, gardening, crafting, sewing, photography and more

November Block of the Month

Leave a comment

This month the local quilt store gave us the Sunlight and Shadow block from Quilt Blocks Galore.  They decided that our quilt needed more green, so they chose a nice deep green batik to pair with the gold.

November 2014 BOM - 1

You’ll need mostly squares, with a few HSTs made from more squares.  As usual, I like the draw a line method of making HSTs, so I’ll go with that again.

Fabric Requirements

Dark (green) – four 3-1/2 inch squares, and two 3-7/8 inch squares

Medium (gold) – two 3-1/2 inch squares, and two 3-7/8 inch squares

Background – two 3-1/2 inch squares, and four 3-7/8 inch squares

November 2014 BOM - 2

Draw a diagonal line on the back of the background 3-7/8 inch squares.  Layer the four 3-7/8-inch background squares with the dark and medium color squares of the same size right sides together.

November 2014 BOM - 3

Sew a scant 1/4-inch away from the line on either side, chain piecing back up the other side.

November 2014 BOM - 4

November 2014 BOM - 5

Whoops, forgot to change to Aurifil thread!! Excuse me while I wind a bobbin and rethread. OK, now cut on the diagonal line.  Press and square up to 3-1/2 inches.

November 2014 BOM - 6

November 2014 BOM - 7

Lay out your block.

November 2014 BOM - 8

Sew in rows, pressing the seams opposite.

November 2014 BOM - 9

Sew the rows together.

November 2014 BOM - 10

Done!!  Are you following along with this BOM?  The last block is next month.  I am already starting to think about how I want to put them together.  I have an idea that I think will surprise you, but I need to get more fabric.  Imagine that!!

Author: Carole @ From My Carolina Home

Blog frommycarolinahome.com

Thank you for commenting! I try to personally answer every comment via email if I can.

