Patriotic Table Runner Tri Recs Star

Follow along to make this patriotic table runner using with a star using the Tri Recs angle rulers.   Here’s a pic of the final project.  If you don’t have the Tri Recs rulers, any star could be substituted in the final project.

PatrioticTableRunnerFinish2

Start with cutting your triangles using the angle rulers.  You’ll need one 4-1/2″ strip the width of the fabric in white and red for each square, or one fat quarter of each color cut into 4-1/2″ strips.  I want the finished block to be 12 inches, so I use a 4-1/2 measurement for the Tri Rec units.

TriRecsPatriotic-cutwhite

Note that you need a right and left red triangle. I put my fabric right sides together and cut two at once.

TriRecsPatriotic-both

Place the red unit on top of the white one, right sides together. Note that the cut off point fits neatly on the angle showing you just where to sew.

TriRecsPatriotic-linedup

Sew with a quarter-inch seam allowance. A quarter-inch foot comes in handy here.

TriRecsPatriotic-sewing

Press the red outward with the seam allowance under the red.

TriRecsPatriotic-pressed

Repeat for the other side.

TriRecsPatriotic-secondwing

I like to do them chain style with all the right sides at once, then all the left so I don’t get mixed up. By now you know that I am a big fan of laying things out multiple times to be sure you are doing it right. Saves a lot of frogging!

TriRecsPatriotic-laidout

Cut 4-1/2 inch squares of fabric, one red for the center and four white for the corners. Multiply by the number of blocks you want to make.

TriRecsPatriotic-layout

Sew in rows, press the seam allowances to the left on the top and bottom rows, and to the right on the middle row so the seams will nest.

PatritoticTable Runner assembeld

Set your Tri Recs blocks with 12-1/2 inch squares to assemble the runner. I used three Tri Recs blocks and two fabric print blocks. Cut a 8-1/2 inch print square in half on the diagonal, and add to each end to create the point.

Patriotic Table Runner

Now, on to Part 2 – Finishing the Table Runner

Happy Quilting!

My blog is a variety of subjects, quilting and sewing, tablescapes and recipes, book reviews and hand stitching, crafting and mountain living. I love to have new followers, too!  See the buttons on the sidebar to follow by your favorite method.  If you are visiting from Fave Quilts, All Free Sewing, Pinterest, a link up site, or just found me, please stay a bit and have a look around, my tutorials are gathered at the top in pages to make them easy to find.  Lots of fun is had here, and I invite you to follow with any of your favorite methods, see the sidebar for ways to follow.  My fourth mystery quilt is in progress in 2018, click on Scrap Dance Square Dance on the sidebar for the first post.  Click on the Home page to see the latest posts on the blog.

13 thoughts on “Patriotic Table Runner Tri Recs Star

  1. Pingback: Scrappy Scissor Keepers! Turtle Screen Cleaner! Slouchy Backpack! Magnetic Pin Keep! Crocheted Striped Blanket! Patriotic Table Runner! Spiced Rum Cooler! PLUS . . . Recipes, Jokes, Art, Design & Memories! | Mark Lipinski's Blog

  2. Carole, Thanks for rejuvinated this one under our Stars theme at Tuesday Archives. WHat I always appreciate about visiting your posts is I ALWAYS learn something. The tri rulers make these stars even and neat. (I usually make mine wonky) Jackson gives you five wags!

  3. Barbara Boxwell

    I am sorry I did not make myself clear, I would like some guidance as to the yardage for each color. No is the time when all the patriotic fabric is out there.

Comments are closed.