From My Carolina Home

Quilting, cooking, reading books, gardening, crafting, sewing, photography and more

Carole’s Creamy Scone Spread

Leave a comment

Funny how a thread on a forum can get you thinking. Years ago I made a recipe from Southern Living Annual Recipes 1997 for Cream Scones – http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/cream-scones-10000000257797/ and it was wonderful.  So good in fact that I make them on a regular basis.  I have a post-it note in that annual cookbook sticking up so I can see it with Scones written on it. I should have the recipe memorized by now!

 sconespreadbook

I wanted some Devonshire cream to go with them. Since that isn’t easy to come by here, I had to improvise. I thought a tangy spread that went well with sweet jam on the scones would be tasty.

sconespread|FromMyCarolinaHome.wordpress.com

After some experimentation, I came up with this spread that is wonderful with sweet blueberry, or black cherry or plum jam. Actually any jam, those just happen to be my favorites. Gather some ingredients.

sconespread1

Put all the ingredients together in a bowl…

sconespread2

and whip until it holds its shape.

sconespread

I keep mine in a jar in the frig next to the jams.

sconespread7

Make it while these lovely scones are baking.

sconesinoven

Delicious on those scones, warm from the oven.

sconesdone

Can’t you just smell the fragrance of fresh baked scones?

Scones | FromMyCarolinaHome.wordpress.com

It can be used on biscuits too, makes them a bit more special for an everyday weekend meal.

biscuits2

Carole’s Creamy Scone Spread

4 ounces low fat Cream Cheese, softened
1 Tablespoon light Sour Cream
1 Tablespoon plain Greek Yoghurt
3 Tablespoon Whipping Cream, not whipped
1/4 teaspoon Vanilla

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix well, using an electric mixer to fluff up the cream. Whip until the cream holds it shape, won’t take but a minute or so. Makes enough for several breakfasts. Refrigerate any leftovers.

Scone Spread | FromMyCarolinaHome.wordpress.com

It is lightly tangy with a hint of vanilla, a perfect accompaniment for the scones.  I store it in a jar and put it with the jams so I can use it on biscuits too.   It even makes a nice sweet dessert treat spread on a flour tortilla (warmed slightly in the microwave) with jam.   Enjoy!

Do you enjoy scones?

Author: Carole @ From My Carolina Home

Blog frommycarolinahome.com

Thank you for commenting! I try to personally answer every comment via email if I can.

