Quickie Hot Pad coffee mat

I wanted something new to set my coffee on in the morning.  The quilt block I have been using was looking a little sad.  I still have way too much sewing motif fabric, so here goes another project.   I found this book in my private library.  It is all small pieced blocks, no paper piecing, so I thought the tea cup would be a good start.

hotmat1

I pulled some fabrics, cut out the bitty pieces.  It only took about 15 minutes to do the teacup.

hotmat2

Then sew the teacup in sections as the pattern shows.

hotmat3

But I wanted it bigger, to hold a plate for my crumpets.  So I added a side piece in a complementary print.

hotmat4

The border is a dark green, picking up the other colors in the mat.  Total size 8 x 13 inches.

hotmat5

Now for the real reason I wanted a small project.  I am just starting to use my little chalk marker for ruler lines, and a small project I could do on the DSM was perfect.

hotmat11

I marked the chalk lines, and quilted on them.  Simple, uncomplicated.  I used a dark thread which would fade from the motifs and show in the white background spaces.

hotmat7

Batting is Warm and Natural.  The next one I think I’ll use some Insulbrite for more heat insulation.

hotmat8

I bound it in the same color as the border.

hotmat9

Now to play with it!  It fits my little baker.

hotmat13

And the bigger baker..

hotmat15

And the oval baker…

hotmat14

And most importantly, fits my plate and cup!

hotmat16

Aren’t small projects fun?!!  From idea to finish in just a couple of hours.   Now, where to place it in the State Fair competition?  Table crafts maybe?

My blog is a variety of subjects, quilting and sewing, tablescapes and recipes, book reviews and hand stitching, crafting and mountain living. I love to have new followers, too! See the buttons on the sidebar to follow by your favorite method. If you are visiting from Fave Quilts, Pinterest, a blog hop or link up, please stay a bit and have a look around, my tutorials are gathered at the top in pages to make them easy to find. Lots of fun is had here, and I invite you to follow with any of your favorite methods, see the sidebar for ways to follow. My fourth mystery quilt is in progress for 2018, click on Scrap Dance Square Dance on the sidebar for the first post. Click on the Home page to see the latest posts on the blog.

Sharing

Threading My Way 12 Days of Christmas – Using Fabric Scraps

Val’s Tuesday Archive Mug Rugs

Val’s Tuesday Archives Paper Piecing

23 thoughts on “Quickie Hot Pad coffee mat

  1. This looks great. And finished so easily! Small stuff leads to completions.
    Your blog looks great too. I love how everything is lined up on the side bar. Looks so neat. Was it you that used the changes to the buttons’ HTML code? I like it! I didn’t see the need of it until I saw how nice yours looks.

    1. Yes, Lin, that was me. Michelle helped me to figure that out and make the mess line up nice and straight!
      Thanks for the comment!

    1. Thanks, Jasmine, it is nice to get a quick finish sometimes. I have more I want to do soon, and will post about those too.

  2. orchidlover

    It’s lovely. You’ve given me an idea for presents to thank my quilt bee buddies. I think I’ll make them all mug rugs. Love Gina xxx

  3. I have to agree – small projects are fun, Carole, although I probably get more satisfaction from a large project when I finally reach the end. I do like the size of your coffee mat – very practical and it looks great, too.

  4. So pretty. And I love those fabrics. Green is my favorite color. I do love making small projects, like mug rugs. People seem to love them as gifts too.

Comments are closed.