Pork Roast and more

My husband went with me to the grocery store last week, and he was shocked at how much prices have gone up.  It is getting ridiculous!  But it got me thinking about how large the lower priced cuts of meat can be.  Those big pork roasts called Boston butt roasts are flavorful, but way too much for two people.  So, I set a challenge for myself – to cook one of these roasts, and make the leftovers taste as different as I could.   The second part of the challenge was to not have leftovers of leftovers, but to use it in recipes serving only one or two.

So I started with a beautiful 4-1/2 pound Boston butt pork roast.

roast2Roast1

I wanted this roast to be flavorful but amenable to other added spices later for different recipes.  So, starting out with the usual onion, I split two 1/2-inch slices of onion into rings.

roast4onion

I sprayed the inside of my slow cooker with no-stick spray, then added half the onion rings.

roastcrockonion

Two garlic cloves were smashed then coarse chopped.  Half of the garlic was added to the slow cooker.

roastgarlicchop

I put the roast on top, then added some lemon-pepper seasoning.

roastseasoned

The remainder of the onion was put on top of the roast along with the rest of the garlic.  Note that I don’t use salt, it isn’t needed and it can be added at the table.

roastonionontop

Set the cooker on low and let it cook for 8 hours.

Porkroastcooked2

Yum!!  Pieces of the flavorful, tender, juicy roast were served with yellow squash and a spinach salad.

Porkroastplast

The leftovers cooled, and were divided into two containers of about 2 cups of meat with juices each.  I’ll use this up over the next few days and will share the recipes with you.  There will be enough variety that you won’t realize you are eating the same roast!!

Porkroastlefovers

Slow Cooker Pork Roast

1 4-5 pound pork Boston butt roast
2 slices onion 1/2 inch thick
2 garlic cloves, smashed and chopped
1-2 teaspoons lemon-pepper seasoning (to taste)

Spray the inside of the slow cooker with no-stick spray.  Put half the garlic and onion rings in a slow cooker.  Add the roast on top, sprinkle with lemon-pepper.  Top with remaining onion and garlic.  Cover and cook 8 hours on low.  Enjoy the tender roast with vegetables for the first night.

Here are the posts for recipes using up the leftovers, in quantities suitable for one or two.

The first one is  Pork Nachos.

Or make Leftover Pork Roast Farfalle Pasta

Leftover Pork Roast Enchiladas

And  Pork Potstickers.

cookingWedLinkyProject-Parade-Link-Party-Button200x200_zps29ffd2f6 Val's Quilting Studio

 

6 thoughts on “Pork Roast and more

  1. Thank you! Always looking for “stuff” that only feeds two–and, you’re right–the prices have gone outta sight! My husband is basically a meat and potatoes guy–none of these fancy, schmancy ideas.

  2. I always do pork ( even ribs! 🙂 in the slow cooker …it is the best method ever for pork! You are so right about the prices…I know pork rose due to drought a few years back and recently I read on Fox news that there is a disease that is devastating the herds now ( not catchy to humans but the piglets are dying off ) It sounded awful, for the pigs, the farmers livelihood, and our costs 😦

  3. Ronna

    the chicken was such a success yesterday that this is now in the oven. I chose to cook it in a cast iron pot instead of the crock pot though..just my preferred method.

Comments are closed.