Summer Bliss in Purple

Have you ever just fallen in love with a magazine cover? Usually, this isn’t what I do. Books and magazines are sources of inspiration, and lots of ‘maybe someday’ plans, but this one really grabbed me. I love tessellating designs, and this one spoke to me.   I am not a fan of blue, but the juxtaposition of blue to yellow to green really pops. I thought I’d love it if the blue was purple instead.

Summerborder.jpg Summer

The magazine is American Patchwork and Quilting, Issue 117, August 2012. When it arrived in my mailbox, I was captivated by the cover design. The designer is Marti Michell (not the first design of hers I’ve liked). The sample on the cover was quilted by Rachel Greyling. You can see the magazine cover and Marti’s original quilt here – https://www.frommarti.com/info_magazine_articles.shtml

Purple1.JPG Summer5.jpg

The pattern calls for 14 different fabrics! I thought a couple of the patches could be the same fabric so I wouldn’t need quite as many.

PurpleSummerBliss2 Sumemrback2.jpg

I made a slight change to the border, and enough blocks to span my king size bed. I quilted it using a pantograph called Plumeria Garden designed by Lisa Calle at Intelligent Quilting. This took up all the extra wonkiness, and the quilt lies absolutely flat on the bed. It will be my spring and summer quilt, lighter weight batting so it isn’t too warm, just enough over the sheet for cooler nights.   I took a picture of it on the bed, but I can’t use it yet.

Summer1.jpg

I made the decision to enter it in the American Quilter Society quilt show coming to Charlotte this summer. I have no illusions of winning any ribbons (only custom quilted quilts get those), but I figure if the show needs some filler to round out the show, maybe it will be considered for the color choices. In any case, I love the quilt, and it will grace my bed in the warmer months for years to come.

Purple-Summer-Blisscrop

Here’s the label, giving credit for the design to Marti Michell, she earned it!  Thanks, Marti, for this great design!!

PurpleSummerLabeledit

Happy Quilting!!

11 thoughts on “Summer Bliss in Purple

  1. It is so lovely, I don’t want to stop looking at it! I love purple and green together and the yellow is nice also. I bought some charm packs and jelly rolls with similar colors but can’t remember the name just now.

  2. Beautiful quilt Carole! Design, color and quilting are wonderful! The king size quilt on your bed is sooo inviting. Thanks for linking up. I am writing a blog post about it.

Comments are closed.